Hospital Awards Program Banner

2012-2013 Texas Hospital Quality Improvement Award Program

Hospital Award Logo


Below is more information about the Texas Hospital Quality Improvement Award Ceremony. During this special occasion, TMF will honor leadership teams from the 135 award-winning hospitals. The event will also feature a keynote address from Ron Culberson, MSW, CSP, author, speaker and humorist. RSVP to attend the ceremony if your hospital is among those receiving an award. Please email Cayce Brewster at, or call 1-866-439-5863 with any questions.

Date: Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Time: 5 – 10 p.m. Central Time
Location: Hilton Austin Airport, 9515 Hotel Dr., Austin, TX 78719.
Phone: 512-385-6767

Book your hotel room. A limited number of rooms have been reserved for $129 per night. Book your room early to ensure availability.

RSVP to attend the ceremony. Please note, this event is by invitation only. Register by May 16, 2014.

The 2012-2013 Texas Hospital Quality Improvement Award program, sponsored by TMF Health Quality Institute (the Medicare Quality Improvement Organization), Texas Hospital Association and Texas Organization of Rural and Community Hospitals recognizes Texas hospitals that have undertaken quality initiatives to improve outcomes in patient care and improve their performance on specific national quality measures. This program was established in 2004 as a non-competitive program designed to recognize exemplary outcomes achieved by hospitals statewide.


All Inpatient Prospective Payment System (IPPS or Acute Care) Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) across the state were automatically included as participants in the 2012-2013 program. Please ensure that we have up-to-date contact information by completing this online contact information form. Read more about the award program in this one page summary (PDF).


Hospitals must have met or exceeded the established criteria targets to receive an award. Hospitals received quarterly reports that were uploaded to each hospital’s QualityNet administrator inbox. The report outlined the hospital’s performance to date in relation to the criteria developed and indicated (at each point in time) if the hospital was on target to receive an award.

How could my hospital get involved?

All hospitals (including IPPS or Acute Care and CAH) were automatically enrolled in the awards program. The criteria established for each category is listed on the award criteria section of this website.

What determines an award winner?

There are three award designations: Gold, Silver, and Bronze. Each hospital must meet or exceed the targets established to receive an award. See the award criteria section of this website for more information.

How will my hospital be recognized if we should receive an award?

  • Hospitals meeting the criteria for the Gold and Silver awards will receive a crystal trophy in recognition of their accomplishments. Recipients will be invited to an award ceremony and reception where they will be honored for their achievements, have the chance to network with other hospital recipients and meet representatives from organizations sponsoring the award.
  • Hospitals meeting the criteria for the Bronze award will receive a framed certificate in recognition of their accomplishments.
  • TMF will launch a media campaign to announce recipients statewide in medical publications, magazines and news services, and will provide a press kit for hospitals to use with their local broadcast and print media.

Who should I contact if I have more questions?

If you have more questions about the program, feel free to contact Suzie Daly, MHA, project resource consultant, at 512-964-5988 or

Learn more about the 2010-2011 Texas Hospital Quality Improvement Award Program’s success.

TMF Health Quality Institute Logo   Texas Hospital Association Logo