Spread the word about the hospital award program on your website with a web banner or badge.

Hospital Quality Improvement Award Program

Hospital Award Logo

The Hospital Quality Improvement Award program recognizes hospitals in Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas that undertake quality improvement initiatives to enhance outcomes in patient care and improve their performance on specific national quality measures. This program was established in 2004 as a non-competitive program designed to recognize exemplary outcomes achieved by hospitals statewide.

All Inpatient Prospective Payment System (IPPS or Acute Care) Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) across the four states will be automatically included as participants in the 2016 – 2017 program.




Hospitals must have met or exceeded the established criteria targets to receive an award. Hospitals received reports that will be uploaded to each hospital’s QualityNet administrator inbox. The report outlined the hospital’s performance to date in relation to the criteria developed and indicated (at each point in time) if the hospital was on target to receive an award.

How could my hospital get involved?

All hospitals (including IPPS or Acute Care and CAH) were automatically enrolled in the awards program. View the criteria established for each award category, including the 2016-2017 measures and the levels of improvement your hospital will need to achieve to receive region wide recognition for your quality improvement efforts.

What determines an award winner?

There are three award designations: Gold, Silver, and Bronze. Each hospital must meet or exceed the targets established to receive an award. View the award criteria section of this website for more information.

What is the process and timeline for the award program?

  • April 1, 2016 - Sept. 30, 2017: Quality Improvement Period
    Hospitals focus on providing exemplary care and to meet or exceed the established criteria.

  • 2016 Year-End Hospital Performance Report
    Data pulled for all hospitals based on established award criteria and current status is uploaded to the QualityNet inbox.

  • 2017 Year-End Hospital Performance Report
    Data pulled for all hospitals based on established award criteria and current status is uploaded to the QualityNet inbox.

  • Fourth Quarter 2018 Award Recipients Notified
    Hospitals will be notified as to whether or not they have met the criteria to receive a Gold, Silver or Bronze award.

How will my hospital be recognized if we should receive an award?

  • TMF, in collaboration and partnership with each state's hospital association, will select the award recipients and determine the time and method the awards will be distributed in each state, i.e., at an annual meeting, an awards banquet or through the mail.
  • Hospitals meeting the criteria for Gold and Silver will receive an award in recognition of their accomplishments.
  • Hospitals meeting the criteria for Bronze will receive a framed certificate in recognition of their accomplishments.
  • TMF, in collaboration with each state's hospital association, will launch a media campaign to announce recipients in medical publications, magazines and news services, and will provide a press kit for hospitals to use with their local broadcast and print media.

Who should I contact if I have more questions?

If you have more questions about the program, feel free to email

TMF Health Quality Institute Logo     Texas Hospital Association Logo     TORCH Logo       


Arkansas Hospital Association