Spread the word about the physician practice award program on your website with a web banner or badge.

Physician Quality Award

Physician Practice Quality Improvement Award

Physician Practice Award Logo

The deadline to apply for a Physician Practice Quality Improvement Award for the 2016-2017 award cycle has passed. Please complete our Contact Us form to sign up to receive information about the next award cycle. Those practices who have submitted an application will be notified this fall as to whether or not they will receive an award.

TMF Health Quality Institute sponsors the Physician Practice Quality Improvement Award Program in partnership with the Texas Medical Association, Texas Osteopathic Medical Association, Arkansas Academy of Family Physicians, Arkansas Osteopathic Medical Association, Oklahoma State Medical Association, Oklahoma Osteopathic Association and the Puerto Rico Medical Association. Any practice in the state of Texas, Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and the territory of Puerto Rico with one or more licensed physicians providing care for Medicare fee-for-service patients is eligible to participate.

All practicing provider(s) must not have been disciplined or excluded by any federal or state regulatory agency, licensing board or health care facility in the last five years.

What are the criteria?

Download the Program Overview (PDF) and Criteria (PDF) to learn what your practice needs to do to prepare to apply for an award. Clinical outcome measures included in the program are based on the practice’s performance for the time period of 12 months ending either Dec. 31, 2016, or the first quarter of calendar year 2017 (March 31, 2017).

What is the process and timeline for the award program?

  • April 1, 2016 - Dec. 31, 2016, OR March 31, 2017: Quality Improvement Period
    Practices focus on providing exemplary care and using health information technology to meet or exceed the criteria established.

  • April 1 - June 10, 2017: Application Period
    Practices must complete and submit an online application to be considered for the award. Practices will receive an email when the online application is available for them to complete.

  • June 11 - Aug. 31, 2017: Review Period
    The Physician Practice Quality Award Review Panel will review the submitted applications and determine the award recipients.

  • Fall 2017: Award Notification
    Practices will be notified as to whether or not they have met the criteria to receive a Physician Practice Quality Improvement Award. Award recipients will receive a commemorative plaque to display in their practice and recognition through a media campaign.

Who should I contact if I have more questions?

If you have more questions about the program, please contact

View recipients of the 2013-2014 Texas Physician Practice Quality Improvement Award.

TMF Health Quality Institute Logo    Texas Medical Association Logo   Texas Osteopathic Medical Association Logo